Home » Start Your POCUS Journey

Start Your POCUS Journey

Learn about POCUS Certificates and Certifications

The point-of-care ultrasound (POCUS) program is the only POCUS Certificate and Certification program endorsed by ARDMS® and APCA™. The affordable online assessments are available 24/7 from your own location and widely recognized for distinguishing skills and abilities in handheld ultrasound.

Individual clinical Certificates and specialty Certifications in point-of-care ultrasound enable healthcare professionals like you to demonstrate your clinical proficiency, pride in your profession, and your ongoing commitment to patient care and safety.

View Pricing  Read the FAQ

Get the POCUS Application Guide

Everything you need to get started learning about POCUS Certificates and Certifications.

Download Your Guide

Earn Your POCUS Fundamentals Certificate

By completing your two-part POCUS Fundamentals Certificate, you’ll be eligible to earn either an individual clinical Certificate or a POCUS specialty Certification.

The POCUS Fundamentals Certificate requirement is waived for clinicians who have passed the Sonography Principles & Instrumentation (SPI) examination within the last five (5) years, or who hold specific credentials offered by APCA or APCA’s companion council, ARDMS.*

Apply Today  Learn How to Apply Download the Fundamentals Guide

*While the POCUS Fundamentals Certificate is waived for ARDMS and APCA Certificates holders for the purpose of prerequisite eligibility for other POCUS Certificates and Certifications, this does not apply to CMEs.


Earn a Clinical Certificate OR Specialty Certification

In order to complete your certificate(s) and certifications, you will need to earn one of these.

Individual Clinical Certificates

Individual clinical certificates assess your proficiency in a specific clinical area of point-of-care ultrasound (POCUS).

Find out about POCUS clinical certificates pricing.

POCUS Specialty Certifications

POCUS Specialty Certifications are awarded once the candidate has successfully passed the Clinical Case Assessments for each clinical area identified as appropriate for that certification and has completed a peer evaluation.

The POCUS Generalist Certification is earned through the successful completion of the following clinical assessments:
·  Abdominal Aortic Aneurysm (AAA)
·  Cardiac
·  Hepatobiliary/Spleen
·  Lower Extremity Deep Venous Thrombus (DVT)
·  Lung
·  Musculoskeletal (MSK) and Soft Tissue
·  Obstetrics/First Trimester
·  Renal/Genitourinary

Click here to learn more about the POCUS Generalist Certification.

The Emergency Medicine POCUS Certification is earned through the successful completion of the following clinical assessments:
·  Abdominal Aortic Aneurysm (AAA)
·  Abdominal Trauma
·  Cardiac
·  Hepatobiliary/Spleen
·  Lower Extremity Deep Vein Thrombosis (DVT)
·  Lung
·  Obstetrics/First Trimester

Click here to learn more about the Emergency Medicine POCUS Certification.

The POCUS Certification Academy will be developing additional specialty Certifications. Find out about POCUS specialty Certifications pricing.

Get the POCUS Certificates & Certifications Guide

In-Depth Guide to the POCUS Certification

Want to learn more about the POCUS Certification process? This guide is here to help you become a POCUS master.

Read the POCUS Guide

Learn How to Prepare

Get a better understanding of how to prepare for your assessments, the POCUS Fundamentals outline/format, and how the peer evaluation works.

Read How to Prepare

Need More Information?

Talk to a one of our POCUS team members about the POCUS Certification process and get informed.

Contact Us Today