Home » Learn about POCUS Certificates and Certifications » Point-of-Care Ultrasound (POCUS) Musculoskeletal Certification

Point-of-Care Ultrasound (POCUS) Musculoskeletal Certification

This program is an online certification program designed to provide independent validation of clinical providers proficiency in three (3) specialty clinical areas. Applicants will have 180 days to complete the program. Each specialty clinical area of this POCUS Certification is comprised of three components: a Clinical Case-Based Assessment, a Peer Evaluation, and Video Submissions.

Clinical Case-Based Assessments

The clinical certificates were developed using a standard template that has been customized for each specialty. The clinical case-based assessments are designed to simulate a clinical encounter. Question types range from multiple choice to hotspots.

Peer Evaluations

The peer evaluation is designed to assess your practical abilities in POCUS. Clinicians of your choosing will be sent an anonymous questionnaire to evaluate your POCUS abilities. Assessment results are based on the first two evaluations received.

Video Submissions

The video submission is designed to assess your practical abilities in POCUS. You will submit two videos per clinical area: one without pathology, and one with identified pathology. All videos must be HIPAA compliant, .mp4 formatted, and 5-60 seconds long.

What if I need training/education?

The Point-of-Care Ultrasound (POCUS) Certification Academy has partnered with official POCUS Education Providers to provide education and training resources to practitioners needing to learn more about the proper use of POCUS. For more details, please refer to the POCUS Education Providers Page.

Interested in certifying your entire team?

Click below to to connect with staff and discuss your group needs!

Make a Group Purchase!

Find a POCUS Educator

Explore Certification + Device Premier Pricing

How to Prepare & What to Expect

Apply Now

One Certification Across 3 POCUS Clinical Areas for $625

MSK Upper

    POCUS for pathologies including bursitis, muscle tears, and osteoarthritis.
MSK Soft

    POCUS for abscess, tendinitis, tendon rupture, and joint effusion.
MSK Lower

    POCUS for pathologies including abscess, cysts, and fractures.

Eligibility Requirements

The applicant must meet the following requirements:

  1. Successful completion of the POCUS Fundamentals Certificate.
  2. Must be a healthcare professional in good standing and actively practicing in a relevant clinical area.
  3. Attestation to the performance of and participation in the interpretation of all of the following POCUS cases within the last two (2) years.


20 MSK Upper Extremity cases

20 MSK Soft Tissue cases

20 MSK Lower Extremity cases


Certify Your POCUS Musculoskeletal Skills with the MSK Certification.